National Humanitarian Network (NHN) Pakistan has been advocating for  enhancing and strengthening the role of National Humanitarian Organizations, and has taken various steps. Our voice has been given due importance by global actors and in this regard our Central Executive Council member Amad Sb, is going to be one of the panelist in the proposed Webinar.

If anyone has any specific input on the localization agenda, and they know that this specific aspect can improve the localization,  they are requested to kindly share it with amad on his email amad@idea.org.pk well in advance of the webinar.

All friends who have stable internet connection on the proposed date and time are urged to register for the online event well on time and contribute to the advocacy drive through active participation in the event.

Details of the webinar

Message on behalf of the Global Cluster Coordinator’s Group (GCCG)

The Global Cluster Coordinators’ Group (GCCG) is pleased to invite you to the second instalment of Breaking down the Silos Webinar Series titled:

Approaches to Strengthen National Actors’ Role in Humanitarian Response
The call to “reinforce and not replace” national and local capacity and actors is one of the key outcomes of the World Humanitarian Summit. The Grand Bargain has further reiterated the need to provide direct resources to local NGOs and strengthen their capacity. These initiatives have placed the issue of localization high on the international humanitarian agenda and are promoting change in the way humanitarian response is coordinated and delivered.

This webinar will examine good practice and approaches from several countries that encourage the engagement of national and local actors in the delivery and coordination of humanitarian response.

Panelists including Global Cluster Coordinators, National and International NGO leaders, Cluster Coordinators and OCHA field representatives will offer suggestions and tips to enhance national actors’ participation in coordination mechanisms, good practice that supports resourcing and capacity strengthening, as well as helpful approaches for clusters in working with national authorities. A good practice document will be compiled based on the webinar discussion and will be shared as an outcome of the webinar.

23 May 2017

Morning Session: Geneva 10:30 – Amman 11:30 – Nairobi 11:30 – Kabul 13:00 – Manila 16:30
Panelists
Muhammad Amad, Executive Member, National Humanitarian Network in Pakistan
Michael Copland, Child Protection Area of Responsibility Coordinator
Ruel Kirathi Mungei, Nutrition Cluster Coordinator in Nigeria
Charlotte Ashley, Deputy Head of Office, OCHA Afghanistan
Register here:  https://goo.gl/yOrQdh

Afternoon Session: New York 08:30 – Geneva: 14:30 – Amman 15:30 – Nairobi 15:30

Panelists

Halima Adan, Program Manager – Save Somali Women and Children
Bernard Balibuno, Country Representative, CAFOD DRC
Jahal de Meritens, Global Early Recovery Cluster Coordinator
Tamara Hallaq, Humanitarian Affairs Officer, OCHA Turkey
Register here: https://goo.gl/PA0KhO

The Inter-cluster Coordination: Breaking Down Silos webinar series aims to provide a platform for good practice and great ideas on how to make coordination better and share these ideas and practices widely amongst inter-cluster coordination group members, cluster members, and the humanitarian community. The webinar series invites current field based cluster coordinators, inter-cluster coordinators, NGOs, together with a Global Cluster Coordinator to provide practical, constructive suggestions around a range of topics that can be applied in daily coordination work.

For help logging on to the webinar, click on the login guide

Questions are welcome in advance of the webinar.

You can e-mail questions to Ali Gokpinar (gokpinar@un.org) before the webinar or submit them to the presenters live, via the chat function.
All documents relevant to this webinar and a recording of the event will be shared on Webex.